Lucknow Super Giants

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have emerged as a formidable force in the Indian Premier League (IPL), captivating fans with their stellar performances. Established in 2021, LSG is based in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, and calls the iconic BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium its home. Owned by the RPSG Group, the team boasts a rich legacy, having previously owned the Rising Pune Supergiant franchise. Led by the dynamic KL Rahul and mentored by the seasoned Justin Langer, LSG is a force to be reckoned with in the IPL arena.

Lucknow Super Giants Team Info

League Indian Premier League
Captain KL Rahul
Coach Justin Langer
Chairman Sanjiv Goenka
Owner RPSG Group
Chief executive Vinod Bisht
Manager Avinash Vaidya
Team information
City Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
Founded 25 October 2021; 2 years ago
Home ground Bharat Ratna Shree Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
Capacity 50,000
Indian Premier League wins 0
Official website Lucknow Super Giants
Official Kit Lucknow Super Giants Team Kit

Franchise History

The journey of Lucknow Super Giants began with the Indian Premier League’s invitation to tender for two new teams in August 2021. Amid stiff competition, the RPSG Group emerged victorious, securing the rights to operate the Lucknow franchise with a staggering bid of ₹7,090 crore. The team’s moniker, “Super Giants,” was chosen through a fan competition, reflecting the grandeur and ambition of the franchise.

Team History

LSG made waves in the IPL from the outset, making significant player acquisitions during the 2022 mega auction. With stars like KL Rahul, Quinton de Kock, and Marcus Stoinis in their ranks, the team set its sights on glory. Under the leadership of Rahul and the guidance of head coach Andy Flower, LSG stormed into the playoffs in their debut season. The subsequent season saw a continuation of their dominance, with LSG once again securing a playoff berth.

Seasons Summary

In both the 2022 and 2023 seasons, Lucknow Super Giants displayed consistency, finishing third in the league standings and making it to the playoffs. Despite facing formidable opponents, LSG’s resilience and skill were on full display. Their encounters with teams like Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders showcased their mettle and determination on the field.

Season League standing Final standing
2022 3rd out of 10 Playoffs
2023 3rd out of 10 Playoffs

Home Ground

The BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium stands as a symbol of LSG’s home turf, where fans gather to witness thrilling encounters. Although the inaugural season saw restrictions preventing matches at the venue, subsequent seasons have witnessed the fervor of home support fueling LSG’s performance on familiar turf.


Player Nationality From To Matches Won Lost Tied NR Win% Best Result
KL Rahul  India 2022 Present 24 14 10 0 0 58.33 Playoffs (2022,2023)
Krunal Pandya  India 2023 2023 6 3 2 0 1 50 Stand-In

Current Squad

The current LSG squad boasts a blend of seasoned veterans and promising talents from around the globe. Players like Ashton Turner, David Willey, and Nicholas Pooran bring international flair, complementing the depth and diversity of the squad. Under the astute leadership of captain KL Rahul, LSG aims to scale new heights in the IPL.

Squad No. Name Nationality Birth date Batting style Bowling style Signed year Salary Notes
3 Ayush Badoni  India 3 December 1999 (age 24) Right-handed Right-arm off break 2022 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
37 Devdutt Padikkal  India 7 July 2000 (age 23) Left-handed Right-arm off break 2023 ₹7.75 crore (US$970,000)
70 Ashton Turner  Australia 25 January 1993 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm off break 2023 ₹1.00 crore (US$130,000) Overseas
1 KL Rahul  India 18 April 1992 (age 31) Right-handed Right-arm medium 2022 ₹17 crore (US$2.1 million) Captain
12 Quinton de Kock  South Africa 17 December 1992 (age 31) Left-handed 2022 ₹6.75 crore (US$850,000) Overseas
29 Nicholas Pooran  West Indies 2 October 1995 (age 28) Left-handed Right-arm off break 2023 ₹16 crore (US$2.0 million) Overseas;Vice Captain
Arshad Khan  India 20 December 1997 (age 26) Left-handed Left-arm medium 2023 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
Arshin Kulkarni  India 15 February 2005 (age 19) Right-handed Right-arm medium 2023 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
David Willey  England 28 February 1990 (age 34) Left-handed Left-arm fast-medium 2023 ₹2 crore (US$250,000) Overseas
7 Krishnappa Gowtham  India 20 October 1988 (age 35) Right-handed Right-arm off break 2022 ₹90 lakh (US$110,000)
17 Marcus Stoinis  Australia 16 August 1989 (age 34) Right-handed Right-arm medium 2022 ₹9.2 crore (US$1.2 million) Overseas
25 Krunal Pandya  India 24 March 1991 (age 32) Left-handed Left-arm orthodox 2022 ₹8.25 crore (US$1.0 million)
71 Kyle Mayers  West Indies 8 September 1992 (age 31) Left-handed Right-arm medium 2022 ₹50 lakh (US$63,000) Overseas
57 Deepak Hooda  India 19 April 1995 (age 28) Right-handed Right-arm off break 2022 ₹5.75 crore (US$720,000)
46 Prerak Mankad  India 23 April 1994 (age 29) Right-handed Right-arm medium 2023 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
Pace bowlers
Shamar Joseph  West Indies 31 August 1999 (age 24) Left-handed Right-arm fast 2024 ₹3 crore (US$380,000) Overseas
34 Yudhvir Singh  India 13 September 1997 (age 26) Right-handed Right-arm medium 2023 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
47 Mohsin Khan  India 15 July 1998 (age 25) Left-handed Left-arm medium-fast 2022 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
32 Shivam Mavi  India 26 November 1998 (age 25) Right-handed Right-arm fast 2024 ₹6.40 crore (US$800,000)
9 Yash Thakur  India 28 December 1998 (age 25) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast 2023 ₹45 lakh (US$56,000)
78 Naveen-ul-Haq  Afghanistan 23 September 1999 (age 24) Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast 2023 ₹50 lakh (US$63,000) Overseas
8 Mayank Yadav  India 17 June 2002 (age 21) Right-handed Right-arm medium 2022 ₹20 lakh (US$25,000)
Spin bowlers
99 Amit Mishra  India 24 November 1982 (age 41) Right-handed Right-arm leg spin 2023 ₹50 lakh (US$63,000)
Manimaran Siddharth  India 3 July 1998 (age 25) Right-handed Slow left arm orthodox 2023 ₹2.4 crore (US$300,000)
56 Ravi Bishnoi  India 5 September 2000 (age 23) Right-handed Right-arm leg spin 2022 ₹4 crore (US$500,000)

Administration and Support Staff

Behind every successful team lies a dedicated support staff, and LSG is no exception. Led by CEO Vinod Bisht and team manager Avinash Vaidya, the franchise benefits from the expertise of coaches like Justin Langer and Lance Klusener. With strategic guidance from consultants like M. S. K. Prasad and Pravin Tambe, LSG is well-equipped to tackle the challenges of elite-level cricket.

Position Name
CEO Vinod Bisht
Team manager Avinash Vaidya
Strategic consultant M. S. K. Prasad
Mentor NIL
Head coach Justin Langer
Assistant coach Lance KlusenerSridharan Sriram
Spin bowling consultant Pravin Tambe
Fast bowling coach Morne Morkel
Fielding coach Jonty Rhodes


Lucknow Super Giants have firmly established themselves as a force to be reckoned with in the IPL landscape. With a rich history, talented squad, and unwavering support, LSG is poised to leave an indelible mark on the cricketing world. As they continue their quest for glory, fans can expect thrilling performances and unforgettable moments from this powerhouse of Indian cricket.